InData Labs vs Toptal: full comparison for 2026
Quick verdict
InData Labs (4.4/5) edges ahead of Toptal (4.1/5) overall. InData Labs is the better choice for data-science-heavy teams, AWS-based ML work. Toptal is the stronger option for short engagements with a senior freelance specialist. The right choice depends on your project size, budget, and required tech stack.
InData Labs vs Toptal: head-to-head summary
| Criterion | InData Labs | Toptal |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | 2014 | 2010 |
| HQ | Nicosia, Cyprus | Remote (U.S.-registered) |
| Team size | 50–249 | Freelance network |
| Rating | 4.4 / 5 | 4.1 / 5 |
| Primary differentiator | Data scientists and data engineers from one AI-only company | Fast access to screened freelancers with a no-risk trial |
| Pricing model | Dedicated team; time and materials; project budgets from under $50K per Clutch | Hourly, part-time or full-time contracts; deposit required; rates not published |
| Min. engagement | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Primary tech stack | Python, PyTorch, TensorFlow | Python, PyTorch, TensorFlow |
| Industries served | Healthcare, Fintech, Retail and e-commerce, Media | SaaS, Fintech, Healthcare, Media |
InData Labs vs Toptal: overview
InData Labs
InData Labs was founded in 2014 and is headquartered in Nicosia, Cyprus, with offices in Vilnius and Miami. Its services include AI research and development, generative AI, predictive analytics, computer vision, data engineering, and a dedicated-team or staff-augmentation option. Clutch lists it as a certified AWS partner with 50–249 employees. Clutch reviewers single out its data-science and ML engineering skills.
Toptal
Toptal was founded in 2010 by Taso Du Val and Breanden Beneschott as a fully remote company with no headquarters office; it is registered in the United States. It is a curated freelance marketplace, which means its engineers are independent contractors rather than employees. Its AI offering covers ML, generative AI, NLP and LLM application developers, and the company says it can match an AI engineer in about 48 hours and cites a 98% trial-to-hire rate (per company website; independently unverifiable). Third-party sources report rates from roughly $60 to over $150 an hour plus an initial deposit.
Services and capabilities: InData Labs vs Toptal
| Capability | InData Labs | Toptal |
|---|---|---|
| LLM / GenAI engineers | ✗ | ✓ |
| MLOps & deployment | ✗ | ✗ |
| Computer vision | ✓ | ✗ |
| Data engineering | ✓ | ✗ |
| AI agent development | ✗ | ✗ |
| Fractional / part-time experts | ✗ | ✓ |
| Risk-free trial period | ✗ | ✓ |
| Nearshore time-zone overlap | ✗ | ✗ |
Tech stack comparison: InData Labs vs Toptal
| Framework / platform | InData Labs | Toptal |
|---|---|---|
| PyTorch | ✓ | ✓ |
| TensorFlow | ✓ | ✓ |
| LangChain | N/A | ✓ |
| Hugging Face | N/A | ✓ |
| OpenAI | N/A | ✓ |
| AWS SageMaker | ✓ | N/A |
| Azure ML | N/A | N/A |
| Databricks | N/A | N/A |
| MLflow | N/A | N/A |
| Kubernetes | N/A | N/A |
Pricing comparison: InData Labs vs Toptal
| Criterion | InData Labs | Toptal |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum engagement | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Engagement models | Dedicated team, Full-time dedicated engineers, Managed delivery | Part-time fractional experts, Full-time dedicated engineers, Trial period |
| Rate transparency | Not public | Not public |
| Price tier | Mid-market | Mid-market |
Target audience comparison: InData Labs vs Toptal
| Dimension | InData Labs | Toptal |
|---|---|---|
| Best company size | Startup to mid-market | Startup to mid-market |
| Best industries | Healthcare, Fintech, Retail and e-commerce | SaaS, Fintech, Healthcare |
| Best use cases | Adding an NLP engineer to a text-analytics product, Placing a computer-vision specialist for an image-recognition feature | Hiring a senior LLM consultant for a six-week architecture review, Bringing in a part-time ML specialist to unblock a model |
| Typical project type | Dedicated team | Part-time fractional experts |
InData Labs vs Toptal: pros and cons
| InData Labs | |
|---|---|
| + | AI and data are the whole business, so placed engineers come from a specialist bench |
| + | Combines NLP, computer vision and predictive analytics under one contract |
| + | AWS partnership is useful for SageMaker-based teams |
| + | EU-registered company, which simplifies contracting for European buyers |
| - | Smaller bench than nearshore generalists |
| - | Staff augmentation is a secondary offer next to project work |
| - | Limited time-zone overlap with the U.S. West Coast |
| Toptal | |
|---|---|
| + | Very fast matching for individual specialists |
| + | Trial period lowers the cost of a bad hire |
| + | Good for part-time or short advisory work that agencies won't staff |
| - | Freelancers are not employees, so continuity and knowledge retention fall on you |
| - | Among the more expensive hourly options |
| - | Building a coordinated team is harder than with an agency |
Who should choose InData Labs?
A typical fit: adding an NLP engineer to a text-analytics product.
Data scientists and data engineers from one AI-only company. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Healthcare, Fintech, Retail and e-commerce, Media.
Who should choose Toptal?
A typical fit: hiring a senior LLM consultant for a six-week architecture review.
Fast access to screened freelancers with a no-risk trial. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in SaaS, Fintech, Healthcare, Media.
Decision matrix: InData Labs vs Toptal
| Your situation | Recommended choice |
|---|---|
| You need full-ownership delivery on a defined project scope | Both offer fixed-price models |
| You need a large dedicated team for an ongoing programme | InData Labs |
| Your budget is at the lower end | Compare: InData Labs (Not disclosed) vs Toptal (Not disclosed) |
| You need specialist depth in a specific vertical | InData Labs |
| You need staff augmentation or team extension | Neither; consider alternatives that offer staff aug |
| You need consulting before committing to a build | Both may offer discovery engagements |
Use case fit: InData Labs vs Toptal
| Use case | InData Labs fit | Toptal fit | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adding an NLP engineer to a text-analytics product | Strong | Limited | InData Labs |
| Placing a computer-vision specialist for an image-recognition feature | Strong | Limited | InData Labs |
| Hiring a senior LLM consultant for a six-week architecture review | Limited | Strong | Toptal |
| Bringing in a part-time ML specialist to unblock a model | Limited | Strong | Toptal |
Verdict: InData Labs vs Toptal
InData Labs (4.4/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Staffing projects. Data scientists and data engineers from one AI-only company.
Toptal (4.1/5) is worth a look if you need bringing in a part-time ML specialist to unblock a model. If your situation matches that, Toptal is a competitive option.
Related comparisons
InData Labs vs Toptal FAQ
Is InData Labs better than Toptal?
InData Labs (4.4/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. InData Labs's strongest advantage: AI and data are the whole business, so placed engineers come from a specialist bench. Toptal's strongest advantage: very fast matching for individual specialists.
How do InData Labs and Toptal differ in pricing?
InData Labs uses dedicated team; time and materials; project budgets from under $50k per clutch pricing. Toptal uses hourly, part-time or full-time contracts; deposit required; rates not published pricing. Neither firm publishes a full rate card; a discovery call is required for project-specific quotes.
Which is better for enterprise: InData Labs or Toptal?
InData Labs is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each agency before shortlisting.
What are the main differences between InData Labs and Toptal?
InData Labs's primary differentiator is: data scientists and data engineers from one AI-only company. Toptal's primary differentiator is: fast access to screened freelancers with a no-risk trial. They also differ in team size (50–249 vs Freelance network), minimum engagement (Not disclosed vs Not disclosed), and primary industries served (Healthcare, Fintech vs SaaS, Fintech).
Verify all details directly with each agency before making a decision.